Analyze this class #10

You are the head of Google and a country you operate in insists you obey its propaganda ministry and filter out certain terms and topics. What do you do and why?

 

I see different possibilities. One is to obey and to live with it. Another one is quit because of professional ethics, that depending on the Government policies, I might seriously consider it. Since I believe there is Internet control everywhere at different levels, I guess I would have to deal with some control measures at some extent. Said that, I think I would also consider a plausible negotiation of the terms of the filters, try to avoid the suppression of topics that are important for a society with a democratic culture. Of course, it could happen that the country is not democratic. Then, I would reconsider to quit.

 

When I was teaching in Algiers I had this situation, since I could not raise some topics in class, as religious or politics, or I needed to avoid to do something in class at the praying times. Since I was living in their country, I had to adapt and the experience was great. In some situations, to adapt to some restrictions it is not this difficult. But public censorship would be difficult for me.

Leave a comment